California Divorce Records are easy to access as such records are considered public property. For those who want to request for a record of their divorce or obtain another person’s divorce decree, it is imperative that one should know if one is eligible to access an authorized or an informational copy.
Authorized copies of divorce decrees contain the registrants, the date the case was filed as well as the county where the divorce was filed. Authorized copies can be used as supporting documents for those who need spousal support or child benefit(s). Those who are eligible to obtain an authorized copy include the registrant themselves, their kids, siblings or parents, their domestic partners, adoption agency (in case of adoptions), law enforcers as well as those individuals who are authorized to act on behalf of the parties. What sets the information copy apart from authorized copies is that informational copies cannot be used as a supporting document and is given for information purposes only.
For those who want to obtain Divorce Records Free, they can visit the State’s Vital Records or CDPH vital records division. The Office cannot issue a certified copy of the divorce; however, they can issue a Certificate of Record which contains information such as the parties named in the divorce proceeding, case number and the county where the record is filed. The certificate does not include any information pertaining to the result of the proceeding. Records available include divorces from 1962 up until June 1984.
To request for Certificate of Records, a pamphlet is available for one to download at the States’ Health department website. The pamphlet contains all the information on how to request for the Certificate as well as the form to be submitted. Payments are not refundable and in case the Office finds no record, it will issue a Certificate of No Record. Processing for the request takes about 6 months not including the shipping of the request. Money orders and US drawn checks are accepted.
For those who need a certified copy of the divorce decree, they can go to the California Superior court or the County’s superior court to request for the record. It is important to check the fee schedule as each county has different fees. Divorce records search in Alameda County for example is available from the Superior Court of Alameda. Each record search costs about $15 for searches conducted longer than 15 minutes. Divorce records cost about $15 and some administrative or handling charges may apply. For those who are on a budget, they can visit the records division and do the search themselves free. The Court does not accept any phone request though they accept walk in and mail request. For those who want to get their certified copies without having to wait, they can also avail of public search sites that provide the information free or for a fee. One can easily get hold of the information they want without having to go to the county superior court to search for the records.
I want my free site!